Why We Occupy: Lindsea

Name: Lindsea
Age: 24
Hometown: Livonia, MI
Home Occupation: Ann Arbor, MI

What makes you part of the 99%?:

I am part of the 99% because I, like many others in America, have not been getting my voice heard for social and environmental justice. I am frustrated with the all the struggling of myself and those around me. I cannot, and those around me cannot, live by this myth of the American dream and pull ourselves up by our bootstraps. In addition, the freedoms in this country are forgotten, instead we have these ideas of freedom shoved down our throats to the point that we are not free, we don’t even remember what it means to be free anymore. When corporations have larger voice in the government than the people elected officials are trying to represent, we have inequity. I join the 99% to fight this inequity and to strive to be truly free.

Why do you Occupy?:

I occupy because I question authority with a critical consciousness. I occupy for redistribution of power. I believe that many have been engaged in consciousness raising and as a result, more people are realizing how inequitable and unjust our system has become. These systems also have gone beyond oppressing people, they oppress Earth and her animals as well, and the capitalist system is responsible for this as well. I also occupy so others can also occupy. I occupy to fight capitalist patriarchy which, in my opinion, has created this unjust system of inequity. Capitalist patriarchy has led to very few in power at the top of the hierarchy, with their own selfish interests in mind. I’m not an economist, but I know well that trickle-down theory of economics does not work. I would hope to see changes happen from the ground up, informed by and for the interests of the people. Participatory democracy is what many are calling for, and I join them in this call. To me, this is what democracy looks like. Empowerment of the masses is on the horizon.

Tell a hopeful or inspiring story:

I went to a rally for occupy in another city with some strangers who are now friends. During that time, a friend of mine was yelling “Down with King Synder.” A passerby asked “What are you up with?” I think this idea of positivist activism is an important one to bring to the movement. While it is important and normal to be completely and utterly outraged at the status quo of this nation and world, we have to remember “What are we up with?” Revolution is supposed to be beautiful and aesthetic, this is why Emma Goldman is credited for the quote “If I can’t dance it’s not my revolution.” Social change is to be fun and beautiful, and that is what I hope to bring to this movement.

Leave a Reply

